WELCOME TO THE MATTAPOISETT MUSEUM
The Mattapoisett Museum is a vibrant place of learning and community activities.
We collaborate and partner with surrounding communities to provide a place of learning and sharing.
We collect, maintain and make available for use cultural and historical materials relating to Mattapoisett's heritage.
We create a welcoming place for all people of all ages.
The Mattapoisett Museum is dedicated to the preservation of significant artifacts from Mattapoisett’s past which demonstrate the life and culture of this old New England town.
We are housed in a charming 1821 Meeting House with an attached replica of a 200 year old carriage house. The ancient pews, graceful galleries, and post and beam construction in the carriage house carry one back to when life revolved around daily work, church, town meeting and the waterfront.
Come visit us and let life in historic Mattapoisett come alive for you!
The early story of the founding of the Mattapoisett Museum was recorded by Minerva Sparrow in 1959. She credits Lemuel LeBaron Dexter’s interest in Mattapoisett's history and his dedication to collecting as the seeds of the founding of the Historical Society.
Mr. Dexter entrusted his collection of logbooks, wills, trusts, deeds, etc. to Francis Rowland. In 1958, Mr. Rowland floated the idea of founding a historical society to Ms. Sparrow. The Mattapoisett Historical Society was founded on May 19, 1958.
Just when the historical society was hunting for a home for their museum, the Faunce’s attorney was seeking to create a trustee board to manage the funds left to preserve the “Old Baptist Church.” A mutually beneficial relationship was established from the outset. The historical society opened a museum at 5 Church Street in 1959. Charles Mendell became society’s first curator in 1960.
Kyle DeCicco-Carey has been a member-at-large on the board of the Mattapoisett Museum since March 2016.
Kyle has nearly 20 years of experience as a librarian and archivist. He received his BA in History from Umass Dartmouth and MLIS from Simmons Graduate School of Library and Information Science. He is also certified as a Digital Archives Specialist and Nonprofit Management at Harvard’s Extension School.
He worked as an archivist and reference librarian at Harvard University’s Property Information Resource Center.
Kyle is currently the director at The Millicent Library in Fairhaven.